“Home” Sweet Home

Notice the parentheses in the title? Those are pretty much because I have no clue where I define my home as anymore. Monday was Water Seven’s last day in Texas, with the project ending on an adequate note. The team did their best to convey our frustrations with the project to our sponsor and while she didn’t quite hear us, we at least know we put our best foot forward. In no way does this mean I did not have an amazing first spike, I truly did. Directly working with those affected by a disaster is something indescribable. On our way home the team stopped in San Antonio for an afternoon. Not only did we channel our inner child through a kickass mirror maze, but also visited the site of the Alamo. Though I had heard of the Alamo, I never truly knew the story behind the military fort. As some of you readers may know I am a huge history buff, and therefore thouroughly enjoyed learning American History from a Texan point of view. This combined with the famous San Antonio riverwalk, something genuienly beautiful and unique, our short time in San Antonio was a perfect way to end my time in Texas. Upon returning to Denver I was pleasantly surprised at how relived I felt. I missed the Rockies, the crisp air, my friends back on campus, and the feeling I receive from the area as a whole. I don’t know how to accurately describe it… living in Denver has a certain feel to it, one which provides you with a sense of endless opportunities and adventure. Or maybe that is just me. So, you see my dilemna. Texas and Denver both feel as if they are my homes. Combine that with travelling back to my “real” home (I arrived back in Chicago at three today!), and you acquire one disoriented girl. I think I simply need to resolve myself with the fact that the older I become, the more places I will visit and therefore miss. My home is no longer a concrete place, but a varitey of areas that have each taken a piece of my heart. One piece will always lie in Batavia, somewhere I never thought I would miss. Guess there is nothing like visiting the place you grew up in.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Meghan Bruggeman
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 04:23:08

    Well said, Meghan! I know how you feel. I think what’s cool too (about all of these places taking up a piece of your heart) is that wherever you do go, and wherever you end up, the kingdom of God is a place you will always be longing for…a home for you where you always belong even when the geographical place does or doesn’t feel that way.
    I hope to see you when you are here at your Batavia home. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment