One month to go..

Hello fourth round!! My time in AmeriCorps is quickly drawing to a close with almost exactly a month left before graduation. The infamous Water Seven team has been reunited one more time to work in Winter Park, CO with National Sports Center for the Disabled (NSCD). A few fun facts about WP… the town houses about 600 permanent residents, the rest of the population being proclaimed ski bums who are truly a race of their own. We are at 9,100 altitude, arguably the highest town in Colorado, it’s real fun waking up with bloody noses every morning. The town’s “hot spot” is The Library. A bar. Named The Library. In a short drive we have access to some of the most beautiful and challenging mountains to climb in Colorado, have yet to summit a 14’er, but we’re working on it. Bears, moose, coyotes, you name it, frequent our house daily. Speaking of our house… NSCD has provided a PENTHOUSE complete with sauna, grand piano, five rooms (only one other roommate? what?!), balconies with a gorgeous view of the mountains, a nice ass kitchen, and two Jacuzzi tubs. Most likely the classiest place I will live throughout my lifetime. On to what we are actually doing here… NSCD is a world renowned non-profit which works to empower the disabled through adventure activities such as rock climbing, rafting, canoeing, horseback riding, etc… after a long few weeks of training the team finally began working with the “clientele.” Up to this point we have largely worked with Colorado Center for the Blind (CCB) in rock climbing and canoeing. Not only have I discovered I am OBSESSED with outdoor rock climbing and belaying (trained through NSCD!), but have been humbled by the amazing people I have met. Each person participating in CCB’s program has a unique story and drive to not be controlled through their blindness. Prior to this  I would have believed it would be impossible for a person lacking sight to rock climb, now I know it is entirely possible, hell some of them made it up the highest course quicker than I could. As for canoeing, that’s also possible, albeit chaotic 🙂 I would be lying if I said I wasn’t somewhat uncomfortable interacting with those who are disabled prior to this experience. I was so worried about offending someone, or what to do if a child with autism, for example, had a tantrum, that I didn’t stop to consider what could be learned from this job. Each new person I interact with has taught me extreme lessons of patience and humility. Earlier this week I spent the day with a 24 year old named Brittany who was  born with a developmental disability. Largely non-verbal Brittany expressed herself instead through her constant laughter and desire to try new activities. Not only did she kick my ass at mini-golf, but ran to hug me goodbye at the end of the day, a sign of compassion that can be rarely seen in this profession. There was also Chris this week, a 35 year old with Cerebral Palsy who needed assistance in every aspect. While we had access to a multitude of resort activities such as a 3,000 ft alpine slide, bungee trampoline, etc. Chris was unable to do any except for a ride up the mountain in a chairlift. Despite this physical inhibition, as well as limitations on communication, Chris was overjoyed at the slightest thing such as the employee who helped him off the chairlift, or the fact his group was getting ice cream at McDonald’s later. And here I am frustrated when my team has conflict, or when the crappy internet cuts out at the only coffee shop in town. Not everyday is a picnic, we often work with the most challenging disabilities in the groups that come to NSCD, but I am ultimately a better person for all of it. Not to mention my job is rock climbing, racing down huge slides, and rafting. Which I’m okay with. Sometimes it’s necessary to reflect on each day, when I’m constantly surrounded by beauty and incredible/unique experiences it’s easy to become immune to such things. I’ll be the first to admit I make mistakes each day in terms of work and interactions with my teammates, but I also know that each day I near a better version of myself, someone entirely different than the scared girl who entered this program who didn’t know herself or what to think of the coming months. A favorite quote I recently read in the Tao of Pooh: “Do not attempt to fit square pegs into circular holes.” So many find themselves in the wrong jobs, relationships, and places. As I enter a new era of my lifetime at Fort Lewis in Durango, that’s right folks I did ultimately decided to “settle down” for some schoolin’, I am determined to live my life through what I have learned in these 10months. Each day is an adventure.

Leave a comment